Updated SPF Inventory – Blogmas Day 17

ROLLY Mag

Earlier this year, I shared my SPF inventory here.

Basically, I developed a consistent and dedicated facial SPF routine when I started taking roaccutane for my acne.

Despite being off the medication for years, my SPF routine has remained.

However, I wanted to share an update because I have tried quite a few SPFs since I originally shared that post.

I also now have an SPF lip inventory which I’ll share soon.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost / here

I have heard good things about this SPF, and I love the Ultra Sheer formula by Neutrogena so I had high hopes. Firstly, I dislike the scent that is featured throughout the entire Hydro Boost range. It left you a bit a greasy, but nothing that couldn’t be managed.  However, I found the main flaw to be that it made my foundation pill. I tried numerous different layering techniques and use different moisturisers and products before the SPF but it always pilled. I shared this experience on the You Beauty FB group and a few people agreed with me, and a few found layering techniques that reduced the piling (and some found no piling at all!). I won’t repurchase this SPF, it really didn’t work for me however, I will use it up by using it as a body sunscreen.

Bondi Sands Fragrance Free Sunscreen Lotion / here

I feel like I’ve shared this story so many times (ha!) but basically, I order the face version of this sunscreen (smaller bottle and higher price) from Chemist Warehouse, and they incorrectly sent me this one. I did some research to see if it was worth returning. The ingredients for this body sunscreen are the exact same as the face variation. So, to me, there is in fact no difference. I reached out to Bondi Sands, via their customer care form on their website, in October to ask for clarification and received a reply in November only after I posted about it on my IG story because I was disappointed with their service.

However, the actual product itself: When I first applied it, it was thick and I thought ‘ew this is going to be like a gross traditional sunscreen’. But, in fact, once rubbed it in, it was nothing like a traditional sunscreen at all!

No sticky residue, no white cast, no fragrance. I’m impressed.

I used it on my face as well and it didn’t make my makeup pill so that’s fab.

Hawaiian Tropic Silk Hydration / here

I discovered this brands body sunscreen last summer and feel in love. It smells delish, and feels like a moisturiser so it’s easy to apply lots of it. I picked up the face option and it is seriously fab for people like me with combo skin. The days I use this, I don’t need to apply an additional moisturiser, because this is enough!

It layers really well with makeup too.

I have done some research and there are seemingly no differences between this and the body formula, according to the ingredients. The difference is in the bottle size. The texture/consistency is the same. So I think I will just continue to buy the boys one from now on and use it on my face as well.

Mesoestetic / here

I had never before heard of this brand, but was approached to receive the product. The press release was extremely intriguing, and you can never have enough SPF, so I said yes.

O.M.G.

It is amazing. Perfect to the face, it is light weight and rubs in like a dream. It leaves a satin finish which is perfect for both a bare face and to layer makeup on top of. My current fave combo is this sunscreen with my Chi Chi Cosmetics CC cream. A match made in heaven.

I am soooooooooo impressed. This feels so luxe! However, it is only a sunscreen and I have to add moisturiser to my face when I use this (unlike my Hawaiian tropic, for example, which is a combo product!) (gifted)

Azclear  / here

This SPF has a lotion like consistency which is really nice and light weight when applied, it also makes it so easy to apply one teaspoon worth of product to your face.

I really liked using this, and it didn’t make my makeup pill.

Two downsides, it’s only 30+, so you would have to save this to use in the winter months. Personally, I just choose to wear 50+ all year around so I wouldn’t purchase this myself.

Another reason I wouldn’t purchase this is because I’m pretty sure it caused an allergic reaction.

I used it on three seperate occasions, and each time, I had tiny, under the skin bumps appear along my jawline.

Because of this, I have been hesitant to reach for it again.

I have actually passed this onto my teenage brother.

I think it is perfect for him because, 1) he has hormonal teenage skin and so something light weight is perfect and 2) he spends most of his time indoors (at school and home) and it’s hard enough to get him to use any skincare at all. So a sunscreen that doesn’t look or feel (although it does smell!) like sunscreen, is perfect. If he does go outside, it is often incidental exposure, but if he is bike riding or swimming, you can be assured by mum lathers on the thick 50+ banana boat and puts him in a hat. ‘You win some, you lose some’ she says.

—-

I have Ultra Violette on my wishlist, particularly Supreme Screen for its priming qualities (I learnt a lot about it listening to this episode of Adore Beauty’s podcast.)

I actually won a screen of theirs from Morgan which I’m yet to try but will keep you updated of course!

Mecca’s To Save Face is a cult classic in the Aussie Beauty world so I am keen to give it a try, as well as the new SPF lip balm they’ve released.

I am also interested to try new SPF- what’s your fave? Or what’s one that you tried and didn’t like?

Follow along on IG @rolly.mag>>> https://www.instagram.com/rolly.mag/

Love a bargain? Me too! Find a bargain in my Discount Directory >>> https://rollymag.home.blog/rolly-mags-discount-directory/

And say hello via email >>>

hellorollymag@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Updated SPF Inventory – Blogmas Day 17

  1. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your content
    seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this
    is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let
    you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Many thanks

    Like

Leave a comment