Answering your questions!

ROLLY Mag

This post is part of my Q&A series… read the other posts here!

A little while back I put up a question box on Instagram and you guys asked me a variety of questions. I have broken some of the questions down into their own posts (see below) but have otherwised answered the rest here. I hope you enjoy!

Read the rest of the series here.

Q. How old are you? And you work in the cosmetics field? Or plan to? You have a real passion.

A. I am 19 years old, turning 20 this year (EKKKK)! This question gives me all the feels… I would LOVE to work in the beauty industry. I just don’t know how I could. Or even where to get started! I did look into doing a university course in dermal science, however various reasons made me not pursue that (including travel and the fact that you end up with a very general qualification. You could do the same job as someone who doesn’t have a four year university degree behind them.)

To me, blogging is my way to dip my toe into the world of beauty. Right now, it is a hobby not a job.

It’s definitely something I would like to pursue, but like I said, I just don’t know how.

This will be my first year at uni, and I’m studying speech pathology!

What’s your dream job or career?

Kind of like the question above, I don’t know!!! I would love to be able to foster dogs, be a beauty blogger, be a movie script writer, etc etc. So many things!

Q. What is your favourite part of your makeup and skin care routine?

A. I love doing both of these routines, it’s like a mini moment of self care! For makeup, it would probably be putting on my primer. I believe in the power of a good primer, and also, nothing can really go wrong at this step haha. For skincare, it’s probably putting on my eye cream. This is a new step to me but it’s making such a difference to how moisturised my under eye area is.

Q. What’s the brand you’d love to be an ambassador of?

A. Ohhhhhh, I had to have a good think about this one! It would definitely have to be an Aussie brand that I use and love. For makeup, probably BYS Cosmetics or Australis. Skincare: Beach Way Aromatics or Cipher Skincare! Or all of them- hehe.

Q. Retinol- I have prescription and over the counter; can I use one Monday and the other Tuesday, then rest day and repeat?

A. I would suggest asking an expert about how to best incorporate retinol into your routine. However, I do know that if you are new to retinol it is a good idea to ease yourself into it and take rest days!

Q. Can you recommend a good Vitamin C serum that uses L-ascorbic acid instead of derivatives?

A. I must admit, I don’t reallllly pay much attention to the ingredients list- oops. I’d advise you to do your own research, or even just browse through the You Beauty Facebook Group! However, a quick google of my own showed ascorbic acid as the third listed ingredient in the Trilogy Vitamin C.

Q. Will you be my friend?

A. Maybe, if you weren’t a bot *face palm*… the amount of responses I got from bots was ridiculous. Tell me, Instagram, how my innocent account was disabled yet these people live happy IG lives????

Q. Best reward programs for beauty stores/sites?

The big beauty retailers in Australia- Priceline, Mecca and Sephora- all have their own version of loyalty programs. My favourite is Priceline- this is where I shop most often. If you spend a certain amount at Priceline during the quarter, you will receive a monetary reward to spend in store, and if you are in the highest level, you also receive a gift box. I would say, though, all of these programs require you to spend a lot of money before you get any kind of reward.

And so, I don’t think anyone is ‘better’ than the other- I would just suggest that you sign up to as many programs as possible- because everything you can ‘get back’ is worth it. Don’t forget Coles and Woolies too!

Innisfree have a very good, underrated loyalty program as well! You get samples as a ‘welcome pack’ when you first join which is fun!

The key is to shop smart… I use Shopback for many of my online purchases. It sounds too good to be true but it’s honestly SO GOOD! Basically, you can shop through the Shopback app or add the extension to your browser. There are so many different stores on Shopback that have a percentage cash back. Sometimes it’s as little as 1%, or all the way up to 20%! You can sign up using this link which gives us both $5!

I use it for Priceline, Sephora, ASOS, the Iconic and more! I’ve earnt over $100 cash back in just under a year!

NOT SPON JUST A BARGAIN!

Q. Beauty confessions?

A lot of you will probably know that I only started wearing blush towards the end of this year! It always scared me lol but now I love wearing it! I also don’t wear eyeliner… 1) I cannot perfect it and 2) I don’t really think it suits me but this could be a side effect of 1 haha.

Q. Make up steps you don’t do?

Hmm… eyeliner?? I don’t do liquid or cream products very often- mostly powder.

Q. What inspired you to start ROLLY Mag?

I could talk about this all day, but I’ll try to keep it short and sweet. Basically, growing up I loooooved magazines- DOLLY, CLEO and Cosmo were my faves. I always wanted to work in magazines, my first dream job was as Beauty Editor of DOLLY, following in the footsteps of Sara McClean and Gyan Yankovic. However, all of these magazines have since collapsed, and with them- my dreams! I then dreamed about making a blog for years before I finally bit the bullet in late 2018. This is my way of fulfilling my dreams of being a ‘beauty editor’ but in a fun, non-professional way!

Q. Top 5 mascaras?

A. Fabulous question! This is hard task because I honestly am very picky when it comes to mascara… so I’ll just do four haha!

  1. Maybelline Lash Sensation– but once it’s been opened for a bit and dried down. Then, this mascara is the best for full and fluttery lashes. I also love the applicator.
  2. Essence Lash Princess (the green one!)- This is so so cheap yet gives serious falsie effect.
  3. Loreal Voluminous– no one talks about this one?? But this is my everyday mascara that i wear to work. Just adds a bit of definition to my lashes, looks natural and doesn’t transfer.
  4. Loreal Telescopic– another one that I feel like doesn’t get talked about that much? this one is soooo lengthening!

Q. Top 5 favourite lipsticks/lip glosses/ lip balms?

Lip products are my fave, but i really struggled to get five from each category… so here is just a quick list of some faves!

  1. Maarks Lip– I have the colours blush (I use this only most often) , bare and rogue. These are fab because they’re an Aussie brand, they are designed to suit all skin tones so no worries about which shade will match you AND they can be personalised with your initials which makes them so luxe and great presents!
  2. Lanolips Tinted Balm– these balms are so easy to wear with just a subtle tint- my fave is the shade ‘nectar’.
  3. Colourpop Ultra Blotted Lip– The shade ‘Zuma’ is such a heavenly colour and comfortable to wear on the lips.
  4. Aceology Lip Mask– I use this as a lip balm because it’s so nourishing. It has a very slight coconut scent.
  5. Essence Plumping Nudes- The shade ‘that’s big’ is my fave, it’s not very plumping but it does give a slight tingle. It’s very pigmented but still has a glossy appearance. And it’s $4.50 so you cannot go wrong!

Follow along on IG @rolly.mag>>> https://www.instagram.com/rolly.mag/

Love a bargain? Me too! Find a bargain in my Discount Directory >>> https://rollymag.home.blog/rolly-mags-discount-directory/

And say hello via email >>>

hellorollymag@gmail.com

Leave a comment